#Thisisme – 26

When I was younger, I used to play a game called Creatures where you hatch little animals from their eggs and help them grow. You can influence what they do through slapping and tickling them, but they didn’t have to listen to you.

This drove me crazy.

I’m a bit of a control freak and trying to do something that I’ve planned out and feel will work out a certain way, only to have it fall apart because humans are unpredictable, is extremely irritating for me.

I sometimes try to plan my life this way and it doesn’t work out. I end up tired and frustrated because, try as I might, there’s no way to account for the personalities, experiences, and feelings of the other people involved, who will have influence on the outcome.

I’m learning to try to relax a bit and have some flexibility in my expectation so that when things don’t go “to plan” it doesn’t stress me out as much. But this is something I’m still working towards and have a ways to go.

