#Thisisme – 20

For today’s confession, I’d like to talk about something which annoys me. And that is when people are flakey (or, as a friend and I say due to an autocorrect mistake years ago, flamethrowers)*.

If someone isn’t interested in hanging out with me or I’ve suggested an activity which doesn’t appeal to them, I like to think I’m alright with either being blatantly told or picking up on the signals. But the problem comes with people who often speak to me and try to make plans and either cancel last minute or get very ambivalent when I suggest doing something.

Don’t get me wrong, as an introvert, I completely understand and embrace not going out. When I make plans, they tend to be smaller gatherings or an activity which is either nearby or sounds like something I wouldn’t want to miss out on. I also try not to be a hypocrite and stick to plans as best I can once I’ve made them.

For the most part, I can do something else if I’ve been bailed on (even if that is “go swimming” or “pick up [whatever] from the grocery store”) but it’s a different mind set for me and it requires switching gears.

So please friends, when we make plans, try to stick with them or bail early enough in advance that I can plan to do something else with my time.

*I want to note that this wasn’t inspired by any particular person or event, just a general pet peeve.

