#Thisisme – 19

Ever since I was young, I’ve been a keen reader. I would happily read the books assigned to me at school plus whatever books we had at home. I was the child who would stay up late reading when I got to a good part of a book then happily continue the next morning over the breakfast table.

As I got older, my love of reading and literature was a big part of my choice to major in English in university. I thought if I liked to read so much, this degree would open my eyes to many new books and I would be glad to have so many choice of things to read.

I was wrong.

Being forced to read books completely changed my love of them, especially when I didn’t like what I was reading. It took me about a year after graduating before I wanted to start reading for pleasure again.

Now, I try to interchange reading “serious” books (usually something relevant to my work) with “dessert” reading (something fun which is easy to pick up for short periods of time).

I’m glad I’ve returned to reading, even if not as vigorously as before, because it’s an easy way to have an escape and learn new things.

