Ch-ch-ch-changes

This weekend I had a very impromptu move to a different flat (I found one I really liked and the room was empty so since I really disliked my old place, the decision to move and actual move was done in less than a week).

Not only is the flat better (bigger, less, flatmates, double bed, etc) but the area I’ve moved to is much nicer as well. When I went for a run around my new neighbourhood on Sunday morning, I couldn’t help but realize the parallels between this area and Centretown, my old area in Ottawa.

This has both helped and increased my recent intense homesickness. Helped because it’s nice to see things that seem familiar (that good ol’ hipster vibe) but also reminds me that I’m not going home for Christmas (for the first time in my life…) and am not sure when I’ll see family and friends from back home again. Dr. Google suggests things like having Skype calls with friends from back home but while it’s great at the time, I tend to feel more miserable afterwards.

I’ve recently made making friends (and getting closer with existing friends here) a priority, which is great when it works out (aside from moving, I spent all of last weekend with friends doing some awesome London things) but one of the big problems with London is that because it’s so big, it’s difficult to get friends together for something last minute and casual.

Anyways, as this all feels kind of negative and I’m supposed to be on the Positivity Challenge, I’ll try to end this with some good things:

  • I am really into hot, alcoholic beverages
  • My have a double bed in my new flat (I know, I already mentioned this, but it’s pretty great)
  • I might get a pet fish (this feels more neutral than positive, but there it is)
  • My new flat is literal blocks from a friend I made here (though he’s back in Canada for 6 weeks soon)
  • Tomorrow I will make cookies
