Homesick

Hey All.

So I realize my updates are getting fewer and further between. As usual, I have an excuse.

I’ve been ridiculously homesick lately. The kind of homesick I thought would hit me when I first moved here. It took awhile but the last 2-ish weeks have been brutal. Lots of crying. Lots of mornings where I didn’t want to get out of bed (and some weekend mornings where I didn’t). Lots of Skype calls and Whatsapp-ing to friends and family back home.

Last week (on September 30th) I hit my 2 month mark of living in London (my bare minimum when I moved here). Things had aligned where, if I wanted to, moving home would have been a really easy decision.

But for whatever reason, I didn’t.

I’ve decided to try and persevere. I’m looking for ways to make myself happier in London (yes, I made a list). Some of them are going to take a little more time and some are more immediate, but it’s happening.

I’m going to be here for a few more months so I might as well get comfortable. A plan is in place and hopefully that means new adventures and a little more blogging from me!

Ps, I know I’m being vague around what my plan is, but a lovely part of it involves visiting more cities outside of London. I recently spent an incredible weekend alone in Stratford-Upon-Avon and it reminded me I need to get out of the city more. So, that.

A view of the quaint Stratford-Upon-Avon

A view of the quaint Stratford-Upon-Avon

One thought on “Homesick

  1. The scenery looks beautiful, Hayleigh! That kind of feeling sounds to me like a telltale sign of culture shock. When living in a foreign country it’s important to understand that the emotional process of adapting is a gradual one, with many ups and downs that can last for many years. I find that a helpful exercise to help deal with these kinds of feelings is to think back to before you decided to leave, while trying to mentally recapture what motivated you to make the move in the first place, and re-evaluating it in the context of your actual experience in the country so far. I always found that taking a step back and learning to appreciate the value of one’s experience overseas in a broad sense can help quell the intensity of waves of homesickness. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

Comments are closed.