1 week in London

I’ve officially been living in London a week!
It’s been a crazy week and I have to keep reminding myself how much I’ve accomplished in only a week but it’s difficult because I want it all to fall into place now.
I’ve gotten a cell phone and bank account set up, applied for my NIN (like a National Insurance Number, for my Canadian friends), applied for jobs (and have a job offer as content manager for a small start up site), and have looked at flats.
The only piece which hasn’t fallen into place is finding a room which is becoming a point of frustration for me. I feel that of the people I contact, only about half of them get back to me and I only end up seeing about half of those. I’m sure I’ll find a place eventually but I’m currently sleeping on my friends’ couch and I’d rather not impose for any longer than I need to.

Anyways, I’m anxious to find a flat so that I can figure out my route to and from work, figure out where I can go running everyday, and start looking into places to volunteer. I also want to start planning visits to a friend in Germany and other places around Europe.
I might need to learn to stop being so hard on myself and be proud of what I have done in such a short period of time instead of dwelling on what still needs to be done.

3 thoughts on “1 week in London

  1. I stumbled over your post and just wanted to say hi 🙂
    Congrats to moving to London!
    I am from Germany and haven’t been to London yet, but really want to go there. You are so brave, moving there, have you been to UK before?

    • Hey there,
      Thanks for the comment! I really appreciate it!
      I visited London in June last year and fell in the love with the city. How do you like Germany? I would love to visit the country while I’m in Europe.

  2. Heyi Hayleigh,

    Brian sent an email about floor hockey this week. I thought I’d look up on the web and see if you had made it to London. Congrats on your move!

    Best of luck. I am sure you will enjoy yourself over there.

    Raphael

Comments are closed.