Packing List

With about a month and a half until I move my life to the UK, I’ve started a packing list.

Anyone who knows me knows that lists aren’t an unusual thing in my life. Making lists calms me down (I have tons of Notepad lists saved on my computer where I list the most absurd things) and helps me feel organized. Unfortunately, I’ve come to realize that in a move like this, I need to resign myself to the fact that nothing will completely prepare me. This is one of the reasons I’ve been vague and flakey when people ask me what my plans are once I move there.
HOWEVER, a packing list is one of my few luxuries I’m allowing my over-prepared OCD mind and it’s been very therapeutic. It’s also involved getting rid of a lot of clutter since, for the most part, if I’m not bringing it with me, it probably isn’t worth keeping.

It’s also making this whole thing more real and, for the first time in a long time, instead of feeling stressed and anxious about the prospect of moving across the pond, I’m getting genuinely excited.

