Tough Mudder

On Saturday my best friend, Alex, and I ran the Tough Mudder at Mount St. Louis Moonstone (a ski hill in Ontario). The run is about 16km long with approximately 22 different obstacles interspersed throughout it.

This was the first event run I’ve ever done so as such I had no idea what to expect. Alex had spent the entire previous day researching the obstacles and sending me videos (which I, foolishly, refused to watch since I wanted to be surprised). This might explain our “before” picture:
Image

Here we are: happily smiling, no idea what was in store.

Obstacles ranged from climbing up different kinds of walls to crawling in the mud (under barbed wire and electrical wires) to jumping into ice cold water to carrying logs of wood to.. tons of other things. I found the running in between the obstacles to be one of the most difficult parts since a lot of it was up hill. The cold temperature outside (about 5-7 degrees Celsius) didn’t help either, especially after completing any of the water events.
Despite all of this we managed to finish the course:

Image

Pictured: extreme relief at it all being over

Overall, despite still sore and bruised from the whole experience, I find myself considering doing it again sometime. I’ve been facing some emotional things the past week and the Tough Mudder forces you to forget about everything else and just accomplish the physical tasks ahead of you, at least for the day. It’s an interesting way to be able to mix up your typical run and the sense of accomplishment at the end is hard to beat. If you’re looking to challenge yourself and face a few fears, I would highly recommend it.

